What’s on the Menu {9/17 – 9/21}

I really struggled to come up with a menu for this week.  I have been feeling a bit dissatisfied with everything I make recently so it was hard to pick what to make.  Hopefully I can get out of this rut soon.

This week in our CSA we received watermelon, honeydew melon, cantaloupe, tomatoes, green beans, radishes, eggplant, peppers, hot peppers, mustard greens, swiss chard, cucumbers.  One of Dylan’s friends also gave us a ton of apples from his grandmother’s garden. I would like to make these Spicy Apple Chips from Multiply Delicious.

Monday – Brats with chips and green beans to rally for the end of summer.

Tuesday – Caprese-inspired Salad with Oven-baked Zucchini Fries via Fun and Food Cafe.  I am not a huge fan of tomatoes, so I’m thinking about having a spinach based salad with fresh mozzarella, a balsamic vinaigrette dressing, and a few tomato chunks.  However, if you like caprese salad or want to know how to make one yourself, I would suggest this Caprese Salad from the Pioneer Woman.

Wednesday – Eggplant and Spicy Sausage Stew via Food.com.  My sister asked how the recipe for Rigatoni with Eggplant, Mushrooms, and Goat Cheese turned out last week. It was ‘meh’. It tasted ok and was satisfying enough, but both Dylan and I agreed that it shouldn’t be added to our favorites list.  It wasn’t bland, but it didn’t grab my taste buds either.

Thursday – Dinner at a friend’s house.

Friday – Turkey Sandwiches with Green Bean Casserole via Eating Well.  When I say turkey sandwiches, I mean that thick carving board turkey that you can buy from the store. It is more like you cooked your own turkey and flaked off some of the meat.  I have so many green beans to use up.  Hopefully this will help tame the growing pile of them.

{Image via The Prudent Homemaker.}

What do you think?

